Blessed if I do, blessed if I don’t

Image

This is how I see working full time next school year. I bet a lot of families out there struggle with the decision to work or stay home. I feel pretty lucky with the options I have. Of course, I hear that when you hold that newborn in your arms every preconceived notion of everything melts away. Until then, I’ve got a pretty good idea of what I’m gonna do.

Currently I am a certified elementary teacher subbing in several local school districts. I was fortunate enough to have the chance to do a long term sub this year and really get my foot in the door. I am also fortunate enough to have a wonderful mother in law just up the hill who has coincidentally decided to retire this year! She has told us she would be willing to babysit a few times a week and this would work out perfectly if I am only subbing. I can ease back into work and sub about three times a week. I’ll have this whole summer with my husband to get used to motherhood and bond with my little Jonesy.

I was inspired to write this post just now because I received an invitation to interview at one of the only school districts in the area I know of that is hiring for an elementary teacher. The chances of me getting this interview were pretty slim. I’ve never subbed there, I’ve never held a full time teaching position and there are tons of certified teachers in the area looking for jobs. So when I got the invitation I was ecstatic! Then I got to thinking, what if I actually get a job next school year? Being a first year teacher will be tough. Being a first time mom and teacher will be quite a challenge. And then there’s the 45 minute commute to boot. Now this is my dream, my career and my ambition so I am all for the challenge. It will mean a better standard of living for our family. In this job market, I simply can’t afford to turn down a full time position. We’ll have to see what’s out there for daycare, either to supplement the days my mother in law isn’t available or to send our bambino/a full time to daycare. If I don’t get the job, that’s all the more time I can spend raising my baby and easing back into work. Subbing is pretty perfect, since I don’t have to take a job if I don’t want to. There’s always the chance that another long term sub opportunity could arise or even a full time position. So truly I think I have the best of both worlds, that’s what I’ll be telling myself if I don’t get hired. 😉

Leave a Reply

