Peanut Butter and Other Cravings

Image

Throughout most of my pregnancy I haven’t really been craving anything in particular. I was always confused by this craving idea, because all my life I’ve ‘craved’ foods. I love food and often crave different things. Pregnancy has been no different. As I start my 34th week of human cultivating, I’ve been noticing my cravings are getting a little out of control. I think this is due in part to my new diet of almost no sugar. The doc says I’m growing a big one and if I don’t want a ten pounder I need to lay of the sweet stuff. So what do I crave? EVERYTHING sweet and especially peanut butter. I’ve always had a fondness for it but now it’s all I can think about! My husband isn’t on this lovely diet with me which me makes it that much harder, watching him sip milkshakes and grape soda. He keeps reminding me that I won’t be pregnant forever. Easy for him to say!

So with my internet research, I’ve come up with some quite tasty alternatives to my typical sugary breakfasts and carb filled lunches and dinners. I thought I’d share how I get by for those that might be in a similar situation.

Breakfasts:

PB OATMEAL & YOGURT – 1 serving of plain Greek Yogurt mixed with 1 serving of plain Quaker oatmeal and 2 tbsp of Smucker’s all natural peanut peanut butter. It is soooo good and only 9 g of sugar for the whole thing! They key here is that there is no sugar listed in the ingredients for any of these things!

SIMPLE FRUIT & EGGS – 1 whole grape fruit and 2 eggs scrambled with a dollop of goat cheese on the eggs. No butter, no salt. No sugar on the grapefruit (something I used to do but not anymore!) Pretty filling and the grapefruit adds the sweet kick with out refined white sugar.

BANANA PANCAKES – No really, pancakes made with just smashed bananas and eggs. No flour or sugar here! They’re tough to flip but not impossible. Add blueberries and/or cinnamon for fun. They don’t need syrup, I promise. But if you must indulge try honey or real maple syrup instead of the high fructose alternatives.

Lunch:

Tropical Chicken Salad – White chunk chicken breast from a can, mixed with a couple of tbsp of Hellman’s light mayo, slivered nuts (almonds typically or whatever’s on hand), sliced grapes and a hint of coconut extract. This is great on a whole wheat pita (Wegman’s makes some delicious ones that always stay moist somehow).

SPICY EGG SALAD – Hard boiled eggs mashed with a couple of tbsp of Hellman’s light mayo and chipotle mustard. Simple and tasty. Again, this goes great on the pitas.

ROMAINE SALAD – Romaine is tasty and much better for you than see through ice burg. Add some fresh broccoli, bell pepper and avocado and now we’re talking. Sometimes I’ll throw in a hard boiled egg. I’ve been using a marinade as a dressing (shh! don’t tell). It’s from Wegman’s again, called Organic Lemon and Garlic Marinade. It’s one of the few out there with very little sugar, it is kinda high in fat though so still stick to the 2 tbsp serving size.

Dinner: 

QUINOA STIR FRY – Cook up some quinoa and then toss into the wok with bell pepper, spinach, garlic, broccoli, onion (whatever veggies you have on hand), add some soy sauce and a generous amount of chipotle powder. This is a satisfying dinner and Quinoa is so good for you. Go google it if you’ve been under a rock and haven’t heard of it.

Snacks:

mixed nuts, clementines or mandarin oranges, kiwi, grapes, hummus and breton 8 grains and seeds crackers

*Got a lot of these ideas on pinterest…check it out!*

Leave a Reply

