Wishful Pinteresting

So I love pinterest. So many ideas and now I have all the time in the world to imagine that I’m going to do them. That’s just it though. I know deep down, the reality is a lot of these ideas are just wishful pinning. I probably won’t turn the side of my house into a rock climbing wall for my kids, or tile my kitchen floor in pennies, but darn it doesn’t that sound neat?! I’d like to think that one day I’d have the time and ambition and get to work making some of the ideas a reality. Aside from a few recipes and a craft or two, nothing major has come to fruition from my pinterest boards. So I thought I’d share some ideas that are probably never going to happen and the ones I’ve done and are tried and true.

Yeah, not gonna happen:

Image

The infamous rock climbing wall. Pretty genius. Our current house won’t do but maybe when the money comes in we’ll pick out a new that will work just for this idea!

Image

That is neat, but oh so tedious. Maybe before I was pregnant I could collect that many wine corks but now not so much.

Image

How funny would this be? Pretty sure the husband wouldn’t do it though :/ Not sure if I’ll be feeling up to convincing him either.

Image

If I could do this I would be in the cake business!

Image

How adorable! Maybe if the kids were old enough to help build it….

Image

we have the attic and enough books but I don’t know if it would ever be a priority…

Turns out I’ve actually done a lot:

Image

I actually haven’t quite finished mine. But it’s a great idea for all those cards you don’t really want to just throw away. I made mine with all the wedding cards we got. I used a decoupaged foam board for a front/back cover. The one thing that’s tricky with this is some of the cards I had were quite thick and using a simple hole punch was very difficult. This is kinda why I’ve stalled in progress to finishing. I was getting hand cramps. No seriously!

Image

I made this for the super bowl this year. It is very rich and super cheesy. I served it with slices of crusty baguette bread. It was a hit.

Image

This is another yummy and healthy dish. Quinoa is all the rage these days and for good reason. Full of protein and other goodness. If you read the recipe, the person who made it before took some liberties with the ingredients as did I. It’s a stir fry after all so you can do whatever you like really. What made it all come together for me was a generous amount of chipotle powder.

Image

This was a free image you could print from the internet. My husband and I own a tandem bike and took for a long trip from our place in NY to New Port, KY. So this was perfect for our reception. We left the picture out for the guests with some typed/ framed instructions. Worked out well, people decided to add their initials to their finger prints. At first I was annoyed because it wasn’t in the instructions, but it turns out it’s nice to know who’s fingerprints were there.

Image

Technically I didn’t do this. My friend did it for me on my hair for my wedding day. It turned out great! She said it wasn’t too difficult as long as you’re decent at braiding.

Image

Zucchini noodles! Yummy and healthy. It’s tedious slicing the zucchini nice and thin but the taste is worth it. You can do with it what you do with most noodles. I thought it was pretty good with a lil olive oil, s&p, and parmesan cheese.

Image

Make this! It’s especially good for warmer weather. Lemony chex mix. It’s sweet and refreshing! Very simple.

Image

This is actually my picture. I got married on a beach in Hawaii (had a reception later back home). I embellished some cheap Old Navy flip flops for me and my bridesmaids. They were cute and easy, mine had the biggest flowers so they looked a lot like slippers. Not exactly what I was going for but they worked.

Image

Oreo cookie truffles, very tasty! Not at all healthy. It was fairly easy to make. Just smash oreos and mix with cream cheese and roll into little balls. Then you roll them in melted chocolate. They were a hit at the super bowl this year.

Image

I did this at my wedding reception at my husbands family lake house. So easy! You just blow up the balloon a little, insert a glow stick, finish blowing it up and attach fishing line to a rock or something heavy to anchor it. Then when it gets dark, just crack the sticks. Much cheaper alternative to water glow things you can buy.

Image

I mentioned these in a previous post. It’s just mashed bananas, eggs and blueberries. Very healthy and quite tasty. Tough to flip but not impossible. A few of mine turned out a little dark but weren’t burnt.

Leave a Reply

