No Plan Birthing Plan

Image

You read that right. I’m opting for the no plan plan. Basically I don’t want to pigeon hole myself in to certain things I have to do. I’m leaving all my options open and deciding in the moment what I want to do in that delivery room. Crazy? I wouldn’t have it any other way!

For some women, I’m sure it works great to have every aspect of their impending delivery mapped out, down to a timed playlist. That’s never how I’ve been about anything, and this is no different.

Everyone asks me if I’m doing the epidural. The honest answer is that I don’t know. I’ve never done this sort of thing before. Based on everything I’ve read, seen, heard, I feel like I might be able to get through it without it. At the same time, I can’t predict how painful this is really going to be for me and an epidural might just be what I need. I hear great things about laboring in water. Here’s one area where I might want to write that down in stone if only to have the choice in the moment, except the hospital I’m going to only has a few rooms with nice big labor tubs and they’re first come, first serve. So I don’t want to assume I’m even going to have that option. I think I’d just want my husband in the room with me during the pivotal moment but perhaps I’ll need my mom in there too. I don’t want to officially ban people until I know how I’m handling things. The idea of music playing seems nice so I’ll bring my ipod. Don’t need to write that down on some form. 

I’ve always been a fly by the seat of my pants kinda gal, I figure that won’t change too much as I cross over into the mom role. I’m excited, nervous, eager, intrigued, and ready for this amazing experience. My no plan plan is just what I need to feel comfortable and at ease during what I can only imagine to be a roller coaster ride of emotions. Perhaps when I’m onto Jonesy number 2 I’ll have a better understanding of what to expect and what I do or don’t want. But for now, I’m enjoying and embracing the unknown. 

 

Leave a Reply

