Waiting Game

Image

I’m due on June 2nd, which my phone app reminds me is 3 days away (if you don’t count today and go to midnight on June 2nd). I can’t believe it’s so close. I also can’t believe I made it this far. A mere month ago I was told to take it very easy, stop working and lay down a lot for fear the baby would come early. And yet, here I am. So I’ve been playing the waiting game, which I’ve learned many mom’s to be have done since the dawn of time. And it turns out, like me, these moms are impatient too and have come up with numerous tricks, tips and strategies to end the waiting game. I’ve heard it all at this point, from the internet to friends and family sharing their ideas. It seems each trick comes with the caveat that in the end your baby will come when he/she is ready and there is no guarantee that you can actually speed things along. 

Here is a list of some of the wierdest things I’ve heard:

Rubbing the soft part of your ankle

Burning sage and walking over it so the smoke enters your uterus

Galloping like a horse (no joke!)

Jumping Jacks

Eat blackberry waffles while doing the chicken dance naked in a pool (hmmm…maybe they were being sarcastic!)

Well, when things finally do start happening I will be so excited. Not long ago I was nervous about giving birth. Well now I have wholeheartedly embraced the concept. I am eager to feel real pain because I know it’ll mean I’m that much closer to meeting my little Jonesy. Also I am definitely looking forward to ditching this giant stomach and heading down the road to recovery and my original shape or something that closely resembles it. 

Leave a Reply

