Post Apocalyptic Hydrangeas

Image

I’ve never claimed to be a green thumb, but I didn’t realize how scary plants can be! 

When we moved into our house a couple of years ago, it had a lot of plants and landscaping for such a small yard. There are three hydrangeas, an azalea, a rhododendron, a lilac bush, several other shrubs and snapdragons, roses and tulips too! The folks who lived here before definitely had green thumbs and I’ve wished I could carry on the plant legacy they left behind, but alas it is not meant to be. I finally started getting into simply maintaining the yard and growing my own little veggie garden last year. Then this year, boom! Baby Jones took over my life. I’ve not given a thought to my yard. I suppose these hydrangeas must have done something similar in years past but I never noticed before. Literally, two days ago these puppies were lush, vibrant green and blooming. Then yesterday, the frost got ’em and they look like something out of a sci-fi horror film. Well, no special effects here, simply lack of gardening. Maybe if I had trimmed them back it wouldn’t look so crazy? Just thought I’d share some cold, dead, plants. Hope next year is better for the little guys. 

 

Here is an earlier post about my garden philosophy: http://wp.me/p3pK5R-37

2 thoughts on “Post Apocalyptic Hydrangeas

  1. projectbuddy says:

    Good title for your post, and they really do look out like something out of a science fiction disaster movie!

Leave a Reply

