The Facebook Challenge: I TRIPLE DOG DARE YA!

No Facebook

As the new year approaches, I’ve been racking my brain to come up with a healthy change I can REASONABLY make in 2014. I rarely do new years resolutions because I don’t think I’ll keep them and I don’t want to disappoint myself. But this year I’ve been making huge changes left and right since becoming a mom, so this should be a piece if cake, right?

Ok, here it is: only check Facebook once a week and really limit what I post. To some this might seem very easy and to others this might seem utterly impossible. I’m somewhere in the middle. Currently I check FB several times a day, which is easy to do with a smart phone. It’s also one of my go to sites when I’m pumping. And being an exclusive pumper, I do it 4 times a day, so yeah, that’s a lot of Facebooking. It occurred to me that it might be a little much. Lately, I find myself in some convoluted trail of FB profiles where I end up reading about my cousin’s neighbor’s mom’s ex boyfriend’s relationship drama. These people are so far removed from and their posts can often be dramatic and personal and it starts to feel wrong reading it. I don’t need to be informed that much about 95% of the people I’m friends with. And those that I do want to know about, I see and talk to on a regular basis. So, what am I gonna do instead? I plan to search for interesting articles and blog more during the times I would have been checking Facebook. 

So how about it, do you think you can do it too? Less liking, more learning. Less posting, more doing. Less drama, more fun. Together we can get back to our own lives! (wow, that came out a little coachy)

Anyway, it’s only a matter of time now before I tone down the cyber stalking…so I think I’ll get a bunch in now to last me for a little while. 😉 

Leave a Reply

